Immunohistochemical subtype and its relationship with 5-year overall survival in breast cancer patients

16 Feb 2023
Pablo Aldaz-Roldán, Diego F Pardo-Vásquez, Geanella N Chamba-Morales, Daniel F Aguirre-Reyes, Johana M Castillo-Calvas, Gabriela Noblecilla-Arévalo

Background: Breast cancer (BC) is the malignant tumour that has been most frequently diagnosed, being the second most common cancer worldwide and the most frequent in women.

Objective: To analyse the probability of 5-year overall survival according to age, stage of disease, immunohistochemical subtype, histological grade and histological type in patients with BC.

Methodology: Operational research that used a cohort design of patients diagnosed with BC at the SOLCA Núcleo de Loja-Ecuador Hospital from 2009 to 2015 and with follow-up until December 2019. Survival was estimated with the actuarial method and Kaplan–Meier method, and, for multivariate analysis, the proportional hazards model or Cox regression was used to estimate the adjusted Hazard Ratios (HRs).

Results: Two hundred and sixty-eight patients were studied. Mean overall survival was 4.35 years (95% confidence interval (95% CI): 40.20–4.51) and 66% survived to 5 years. The main predictors of survival were advanced stage of disease (III–IV) (HR = 7.03; 95% CI: 3.81–12.9); patients human epidermal growth factor receptor 2-neu (HER2-neu) overexpressed (HR = 2.26; 95% CI = 1.31–4.75) and triple negative (HR = 2.57; 95% CI = 1.39–4.75). The other variables were not significant.

Conclusions: The results show a higher mortality associated with higher clinical stage, more aggressive histological grades and immunohistochemical subtype HER2-neu overexpressed and triple negative tumours.

Related Articles

Olalekan Olasehinde, Matteo D Bernardo, Akinwumi Oluwole Komolafe, Oluwatosin Zainab Omoyiola, Funmilola Olanike Wuraola, Betiku Omolade, Opeyemi Ogunrinde, Adewale Aderounmu, Olaejirinde Olaniyi Olaofe, Adeyemi Adefidipe, Ese Ewoye, Tajudeen Olakunle Mohammed, Fisayo Oyeneye, Adewale Oluseye Adisa, Olusegun Isaac Alatise, Ganiyat Omoniyi-Esan
Berthe Sabine Esson Mapoko, Kenn Chi Ndi, Lionel Tabola, Vanessa Mouaye, Pelagie Douanla, Nasser Nsangou, Glenda Nkeng, Carmen Vanvolkenburgh, Bonaventure Dzekem, Dezheng Huo, Paul Ndom, Olufunmilayo Olopade
Ramachandran Venkataramanan, Akash Pradhan, Abhishek Kumar, Mohannad Alajlani, Theodorus N Arvanitis
Berthe Sabine Esson Mapoko, Andreas Frambo, Yauba Saidu, Esther Dina Bell Mbassi, Etienne Atenguena, Kareen Azemafac, Emily Kobayashi, Lionel Tabola, Glenda Nkeng, Anne Sango, Anne Marthe Maison, Sidonie Ananga Noa, Ambroise Ntama, Ruth Rosine Meka’h Mapenya, Rachel Tayou, Francine Kouya, Glenn Mbah, Pelagie Douanla, Celestin Fonkwa, Martin Essomba Biwole, Zacharie Sando, Albert Mouelle Sone, Paul Ndom
Sonali Bagal, Atul Budukh, Jarnail Singh Thakur, Tapas Dora, Burhanuddin Qayyumi, Divya Khanna, Dolorosa Fernandes, Priyal Chakravarti, Ravikant Singh, Suvarna Patil, Rajesh Dikshit, Pankaj Chaturvedi