Immunohistochemical subtype and its relationship with 5-year overall survival in breast cancer patients

16 Feb 2023
Pablo Aldaz-Roldán, Diego F Pardo-Vásquez, Geanella N Chamba-Morales, Daniel F Aguirre-Reyes, Johana M Castillo-Calvas, Gabriela Noblecilla-Arévalo

Background: Breast cancer (BC) is the malignant tumour that has been most frequently diagnosed, being the second most common cancer worldwide and the most frequent in women.

Objective: To analyse the probability of 5-year overall survival according to age, stage of disease, immunohistochemical subtype, histological grade and histological type in patients with BC.

Methodology: Operational research that used a cohort design of patients diagnosed with BC at the SOLCA Núcleo de Loja-Ecuador Hospital from 2009 to 2015 and with follow-up until December 2019. Survival was estimated with the actuarial method and Kaplan–Meier method, and, for multivariate analysis, the proportional hazards model or Cox regression was used to estimate the adjusted Hazard Ratios (HRs).

Results: Two hundred and sixty-eight patients were studied. Mean overall survival was 4.35 years (95% confidence interval (95% CI): 40.20–4.51) and 66% survived to 5 years. The main predictors of survival were advanced stage of disease (III–IV) (HR = 7.03; 95% CI: 3.81–12.9); patients human epidermal growth factor receptor 2-neu (HER2-neu) overexpressed (HR = 2.26; 95% CI = 1.31–4.75) and triple negative (HR = 2.57; 95% CI = 1.39–4.75). The other variables were not significant.

Conclusions: The results show a higher mortality associated with higher clinical stage, more aggressive histological grades and immunohistochemical subtype HER2-neu overexpressed and triple negative tumours.

Artículos relacionados

Lia Pamela Rebaza Vasquez, Jaime Ponce de la Torre, Raul Alarco, Joseana Ayala Moreno, Henry Gomez Moreno
Milagros Abad-Licham, Juan Astigueta, Caddie Laberiano Fernández, Himelda Chávez Torres, Grisnery Maquera Torres, Edwin Figueroa, Ricardo Bardales
G Luis Pendola, Roberto Elizalde, Pablo Sitic Vargas, José Caicedo Mallarino, Eduardo Gonzalez, José Parada, Mauricio Camus, Ricardo Schwartz, Enrique Bargalló, Ruffo Freitas, Mauricio Magalhaes Costa, Vilmar Marques de Oliveira, Paula Escobar, Miguel Oller, Luis Fernando Viaña, Antonio Jurado Bambino, Gustavo Sarria, Francisco Terrier, Roger Corrales, Valeria Sanabria, Juan Carlos Rodríguez Agostini, Gonzalo Vargas Chacón, Víctor Manuel Pérez, Verónica Avilés, José Galarreta, Guillermo Laviña, Jorge Pérez Fuentes, Lía Bueso de Castellanos, Bolívar Arboleda Osorio, Herbert Castillo, Claudia Figueroa