Clinical Study

Complete metastasectomy in renal cell carcinoma: a propensity-score matched by the International Metastatic RCC Database Consortium prognostic model

14 Oct 2019
Aline F Fares, Daniel V Araujo, Vinicius Calsavara, Augusto Obuti Saito, Maria Nirvana Formiga, Aldo A Dettino, Stenio Zequi, Walter H da Costa, Isabela W Cunha

Introduction: We evaluated overall survival (OS) benefit of complete metastasectomy (CM) in metastatic renal cell carcinoma (mRCC) using a propensity score-matched (PSM) analysis to balance groups by age, gender and by the International Metastatic RCC Database Consortium prognostic model (IMDC).

Methods: We included patients (pts) treated at the AC Camargo Cancer Center between 2007 and 2016. Pairs were matched by age, gender and IMDC. Kaplan–Meier survival estimates and Cox proportional hazard models were used to evaluate OS on CM and no-CM group.

Results: We found 116 pts with clear cell mRCC. After PSM, the number was reduced to 74 (37 CM, 37 no-CM). The median OS for CM and no-CM was 98.3 months and 40.5 months, respectively (hazard ratio 0.24 95%CI 0.11–0.53 p < 0.001). The OS benefit of CM was confirmed on favourable and intermediate IMDC but was absent on poor IMDC. The CM group received less systemic therapy than the no-CM group. Ten pts in the CM group still have no evidence of disease (NED).

Conclusion: After matching for age, gender and IMDC, we found CM impacts on OS and also diminishes the need for systemic treatment. Survival benefit was confirmed for favourable/intermediate IMDC but not for the poor IMDC prognostic model. Further studies correlating IMDC and metastasectomy are needed to guide clinical decision-making.

Article metrics: 460 views

Related Articles

Małgorzata Sawicka-Żukowska, Włodzimierz Łuczyński, Jakub Dobroch, Maryna Krawczuk-Rybak
Lawrence Drudge-Coates, Vitra Khati, Randolph Ballesteros, Clarissa Martyn-Hemphill, Christian Brown, James Green, Ben Challacombe, Gordon Muir