Case Report

Primary non-Hodgkin lymphoma of the prostate: a case report

12 Dec 2017
Oscar D Martín, Luis Alfredo Wadskier, Yesica Quiroz, Heilen P Bravo, Giovanni Cacciamani, Paola Umaña, Luis Medina

This report is of a 68-year-old male patient with a three-year history of severe, progressive, low urinary tract symptoms (LUTS) with a score of 20 points on the International Symptom Scale. The patient received alpha-1-blocker therapy without adequate response. Transurethral resection of the prostate was performed, and the anatomopathological report indicated the presence of a haematolymphoid small-cell neoplasia and glandulostromal prostatic hyperplasia. Posterior immunohistochemistry evaluation reported an extra-nodal marginal zone-B lymphoma non-Hodgkin lymphoma.

The patient was followed up for five years by the urology and oncology departments. In the fourth year of follow-up, the patient had B symptoms (fever, night sweats and weight loss). At the same time, laboratory tests showed haemolytic anaemia; then a new bone marrow biopsy was carried out. The histopathological specimen showed six lymphoid aggregates, constituted by a B-cell population with intra-trabecular predominance and reactivity for CD20 and BCL-2. New thoracic and abdominal computed tomographies were performed without any findings suggestive of extra-prostatic spreading.

Subsequently, a chemotherapy regimen was started on the patient with the following therapeutic scheme: Rituximab 375 mg/m2 IV per day, cyclophosphamide 750 mg/m2 IV per day, Vincristine 1.4 mg/m2 IV dose per day and Prednisone 40 mg/m2 on days 1–5 (R-CVP scheme) for 21 days, until he completed six cycles. No signs, symptoms or progression have been recorded.

Related Articles

Mariana Serrano, Jhajaira M Araujo, Cristian Pacheco, Jackeline Macetas, Mariella A Blum, Alfredo Carrato, Eloy Ruiz, Francisco Berrospi, Carlos Luque, Ivan Chavez, Eduardo Payet, Luis Taxa, Paola Montenegro
Maria Alice Franzoi, Marion Procter, Chris Twelves, Noam Pondé, Daniel Eiger, Orianne Emond, Emma Clark, Damien Parlier, Sébastien Guillaume, Linda Reaby, Evandro de Azambuja, Jose Bines