The protective effect of taurine, piracetam and vinpocetine on etoposideinduced inflammation and brain injury in the serum of female albino rats

23 Jan 2023
Arwa Salam Mohammed, Ansam N Al-Hassani, Rafal Abdulrazaq Alrawi, Rawaz D Tawfeeq

Etoposide (ETP) is one of the leading antitumour agents in cancer chemotherapy. Many studies have reported on ETP-induced peripheral neuropathy; however, few reports have focused on its brain toxicity. The current research investigates the protective potential of taurine, piracetam and vinpocetine on serum biomarkers associated with inflammation and brain injury induced by ETP in a rodent model. A total of 30 female albino rats were equally divided into five groups; the 1st and 2nd groups were the control and ETP-treated groups, respectively, while the 3rd, 4th and 5th groups were ETP-treated rats cotreated with taurine, piracetam and vinpocetine, respectively. Administration of ETP reduced body weight significantly, enhanced production of serum proinflammatory cytokines including tumour necrosis factor-alpha, interleukin-1 beta (IL-1β) and IL-6 and decreased glutathione serum levels. Moreover, ETP treatment resulted in upregulation of glial fibrillary acidic protein expression and histopathological alterations in the rats’ brain compared to the control group. Co-treatment with taurine, piracetam and vinpocetine counteracted ETP-induced brain injury and altered serum biomarkers levels. We concluded that co-treatment with vinpocetine could serve as a complementary therapeutic agent in reducing brain injury and toxicity induced by ETP.

Related Articles

Mohammad Saad Salim Naviwala, Mirza Rameez Samar, Daania Shoaib, Fizza Akbar, Romana Idrees, Yasmin Abdul Rashid
Kofi Adesi Kyei, Joseph Daniels, Ameyaw Kwame Adom, Philip Odonkor, Andrew Yaw Nyantakyi, Dorothy Ekua Adjabu
Tasneem Dawood, Yasmin Abdul Rashid, Saqib Raza Khan, Adnan Abdul Jabbar, Muhammad Nauman Zahir, Munira Shabbir Moosajee
Felipe Carvajal V, Felipe Cardemil, Beatriz P Vásquez, Carolina E Oliva, Tamra A Barría, Maribel A Bruna, Leonor A Moyano, Felipe A Bustos, Paola A Muñoz, Cristóbal F Araya, Jorge E Oyarzún, Eduardo A Villa, Federico A Floriano, Alexis J del Rio, Sebastián R Indo, Enrique A Castellón, Héctor R Contreras