Timelines to initiate a phase III trial across the globe: a sub-analysis of the APHINITY trial

29 Apr 2022
Maria Alice Franzoi, Marion Procter, Chris Twelves, Noam Pondé, Daniel Eiger, Orianne Emond, Emma Clark, Damien Parlier, Sébastien Guillaume, Linda Reaby, Evandro de Azambuja, Jose Bines

Background: Geographic location and national income may influence access to innovation in healthcare. We aimed to study if geographical location and national income influenced the timelines to activate the global phase III APHINITY trial, evaluating adjuvant pertuzumab in patients with HER2-positive early breast cancer.

Methods: Time from regulatory authority (RA) submission to approval (RAA), time to Ethics Committee/Institutional Review Board (EC/IRB) approval, time from study approval by EC/IRB to first randomised patient and from first to last randomised patient were collected. Analyses were conducted grouping countries by geographical region or economic income classification.

Results: Forty-one countries (of 42) had data available regarding all relevant timelines. No statistical difference was observed between the time to RAA and geographical region (p = 0.47), although there was a trend to longer time to RAA in upper middle-income economies (p = 0.07). Except for time from first to last patient randomised, there was wide variation in timelines overall and within geographical regions and economic income groups.

Conclusions: Geographical location and income classification did not appear to be the major drivers influencing time for clinical trial activation. Wide variability in activation timelines within geographical regions and income groups exists and is worthy of further investigation.

Related Articles

Arun Sankar Sudha, Ravikumar Rejnish Kumar, Milan Anjanappa, Cessal Thomas Kainickal, Aleyamma Mathew, Ramadas Kunnambath
Felipe Andrés Cordero da Luz, Eduarda da Costa Marinho, Camila Piqui Nascimento, Lara de Andrade Marques, Patrícia Ferreira Ribeiro Delfino, Rafael Mathias Antonioli, Rogério Agenor de Araújo, Marcelo José Barbosa Silva
Rahat Ul-Ain, Mahwish Faizan, Saadia Anwar, Shazia Riaz, Alia Ahmad, Huma Zafar, Wasila Shamim