ecancermedicalscience is an open access cancer journal focused on under-resourced communities. In order to help reduce global inequalities in cancer care and treatment, we provide free access to all articles from the point of publication and we only charge authors who have specific funding to cover publication costs.

The journal considers articles on all aspects of research relating to cancer, including molecular biology, genetics, pathophysiology, epidemiology, clinical reports, controlled trials (in particular if they are independent or publicly funded trials), health systems, cancer policy and regulatory aspects of cancer care.

Treatment patterns and outcomes in breast cancer patients: real world evidence

21 Nov 2023
Guest Editors: Yanin Chavarri-Guerra, Siddhartha Kar and Tanja Cufer

Real World Data (RWD), “the data relating to patient health status and/or the delivery of health care routinely collected from a variety of sources”, is increasingly important to understand treatment patterns and outcomes of new treatments among patients with cancer who are treated in clinical practice and community settings, who are often excluded from clinical trials.

This Special Issue is dedicated to RWD in patients with breast cancer, including BRCA mutated breast cancer, triple negative breast cancer, poly ADP-ribose polymerase inhibitors, and CDK4/6 inhibitors in patients with advanced stage hormone receptor positive breast cancer as well as a novel strategy to downstage breast cancer with a telephone counselling helpline.


Read the full editorial

Watch Guest Editor Siddhartha Kar discuss this Special Issue

Special Issue Articles

Neetha Mary Kurian, Jeffrey Mathew Boby, Somannair Suneesh, Sumit Datta, Aju Mathew
Benjamín Walbaum, José Miguel Reyes, Pablo Rodriguez, Sabrina Muñiz, Lidia Medina, Carolina Ibáñez, Tomás Merino, Mauricio P Pinto, Maria Loreto Bravo, Francisco Acevedo, José Bennett, Cesar Sánchez
Katsuki Arima Tiscoski, Juliana Giacomazzi, Matheus Soares Rocha, Gustavo Gössling, Gustavo Werutsky
Fernando E Petracci, Cynthia Villarreal-Garza, Facundo Argañaraz, Gonzalo Gomez Abuin, José Peñaloza, Marcos Ariel Flores, Luciano Piazzoni, Cecilia Riggi, Lucía Fabiano, Lucía González, Belén Cieplinski, Sergio Rivero, Ernesto Korbenfeld, Pablo Mandó
Evelyn Lilian Beas-Lozano, Haydeé Cristina Verduzco-Aguirre, Roberto Gonzalez-Salazar, Yanin Chavarri-Guerra