Case Report

Primary pulmonary lymphoma in Peru

15 Jun 2023
Elily Dianet Apumayta Requena, Danery Valdez Ocrospoma, Jhonatanael Salvador Ruiz, Alberto De la Guerra Pancorvo, Edgar Amorin Kajatt

Objective: To describe the clinical features, imaging, pathology and management of patients with primary pulmonary lymphoma (PPL).

Methodology: This is a case series study involving a retrospective analysis of 24 patients diagnosed with PPL between the years 2000–2019 at Instituto Nacional de Enfermedades Neoplásicas in Lima, Perú.

Results: 73.9% of patients were male. Cough (78.3%) and weight loss (56.5%) were the most frequent clinical features. Dyspnoea and elevated values of DHL and B2 microglobulin were frequently altered in advanced stages. Diffuse large B cell lymphoma (DLBCL) represented 47.8% of the cases and the most common radiologic alterations were a mass (60%) and consolidation with air bronchogram (60%). The most utilised treatment was chemotherapy alone (60%). Three patients received only surgery. Median survival was 30 months. Five overall survival was 45%, and up to 60% in the case of mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue lymphoma.

Conclusion: PPL is infrequent. Clinical features are unspecific and the principal finding is a mass, nodule or consolidation with air bronchogram. Definitive diagnosis needs biopsy and immunohistochemistry. There is no standard treatment, it depends on histology type and stage.

Related Articles

Nicolás Duque Clavijo, Juana Catalina Figueroa Aguirre, Claudia del Pilar Agudelo Lopez, Andrés Armando Borda, Beatriz Wills, Guillermo Enrique Quintero Vega
Jad Najdi, Mariana El Hawa, Adnan El-Achkar, Nour Naji, Talar Telvizian, Maya Romani, Albert El Hajj, Deborah Mukherji
Vanita Noronha, Laboni Sarkar, Vijay Patil, Nandini Menon, Minit Shah, Akash Pawar, Oindrila Roy Chowdhury, Omshree Shetty, Anuradha Chougule, Pratik Chandrani, Rajiv Kaushal, Trupti Pai, Amit Janu, Nivedita Chakrabarty, Kumar Prabhash
Bivas Biswas, Nikhil S Ghadyalpatil, Shekar Patil, Amol Patel, Sandip Ganguly, Anvesh Rathore, Bhupesh Guleria, Cpalli Firdouse Tarannum, Joydeep Ghosh, Mary Sravani Kondapally, Ravi Thippeswamy, Shashidhara Haragadde Poppa Reddy, Somnath Roy
Goutam Santosh Panda, Vanita Noronha, Vijay Patil, Amit Joshi, Nandini Menon, Rajiv Kumar, Trupti Pai, Omshree Shetty, Amit Janu, Nivedita Chakrabarty, Nilendu Purandare, Sayak Dey, Kumar Prabhash