Clinical Study

Characteristics and clinical outcomes of pulmonary sarcomatoid carcinoma: experience from Tata Memorial Centre

8 Aug 2022
Suresh Kumar Bondili, Ravindra Nandhana, Aditya Dhanawat, Vanita Noronha, Amit Joshi, Vijay Maruti Patil, Nandini Menon, Rajiv Kumar Kaushal, Anuradha Choughule, Sabita S Jiwnani, Amit Janu, Kumar Prabhash

Background: Pulmonary sarcomatoid carcinoma (PSC) constitutes a heterogeneous group of poorly differentiated non-small cell lung cancers. Since these are rare tumours, we sought to determine the characteristics and clinical outcomes of these patients treated at our centre.

Methods: We did a retrospective evaluation of all patients diagnosed with PSC between January 2013 and September 2020 at the Tata Memorial Hospital, Mumbai, India. Baseline demographic and treatment data and outcomes were obtained retrospectively from electronic medical records and survival was calculated by using the Kaplan–Meier method.

Results: Out of 151 patients diagnosed with PSC during this period, 129 were included in the final analysis. The clinical stage was stage I in 3 (2.03%), stage II in 4 (3.1%), stage III in 35 (27.1%) and stage IV in 87 (67.4%). The median follow-up duration was 32 months (range, 15.0–48.9). The median overall survival (OS) of patients who received curative surgery was 18 months (95% confidence interval (95% CI), 2.59–33.4); concurrent chemoradiation was 11 months (95% CI, 2.99–19); palliative chemotherapy was 8 months (95% CI, 5.24–10.75) and best supportive care was 1 month (95% CI, 0.43–1.57, p = 0.001). On multivariate analysis, the presence of brain metastasis (p = 0.018; hazard ratio (HR), 2.47; 95% CI, 1.34–4.49) and the administration of chemotherapy (p = 0.037; HR, 2.2; 95% CI, 1.04–4.94) were the only factors impacting the OS.

Conclusion: PSC usually presents in advanced stages and is associated with a poor prognosis.

Related Articles

Dana Narváez, Federico Waisberg, Tomas Soule, Martín Angel, Luisina Bruno, Maria Romina Girotti, Carmen Pupareli, Matías Chacón, Fernando E Petracci
Debdeep Dey, Bhagat Singh Lali, Paromita Roy, Divya Midha, Indu Arun, Lateef Zameer, Anand Bardia, Geetashree Mukherjee
Yasmim Portela Machado de Aguiar, Adjanny Estela Santos de Souza, Christian Diniz Lima e Silva, Sândrea Ozane do Carmo Queiroz