Conference Report

Conference report on the 14th International Society of Paediatric Oncology African Continental Meeting, 16–18 March 2022, Kampala, Uganda

7 Jul 2022
Jaques van Heerden, Lisa Christine Irumba, Karim Assani, Julia Downing, Alan Davidson, Laila Hessissen, Judy Schoeman, Trijn Israels, Sharon Cox, Hafeez Abdelhafeez, Shauna Odongo Arao, Jeannette Parkes, Joyce Balagadde-Kambugu, Jennifer Geel

Together with the Africa Continental Branch of the International Society of Paediatric Oncology (SIOP Africa), the Uganda Cancer Institute, a tertiary governmental institution for specialised cancer care services, research and training, hosted the 14th continental meeting of SIOP Africa from the 16–18 March 2022. Under the conference theme, ‘Innovate for Africa’, the hybrid conference brought together close to 400 international delegates to discuss innovations and experiences, as well as share the latest research in the field of paediatric oncology. The World Health Organisation 2030 Global Initiative for Childhood Cancer provided the main starting point for the conference with a comprehensive pre-conference workshop programme, from multiple stakeholders and organisations and the themes for the plenaries towards improving survival to the main breakout sessions. Delegates discussed various ways of improving outcomes in Africa, despite the challenges faced individually and collectively ranging from education, management systems and treatment guidelines to future governmental and NGO involvement in African cancer care. The main achievements of the conference were various commitments for collaboration, investing in junior investigators, development of registries and systems for improved childhood care on the African continent, while working towards greater access to advanced management options such as targeted therapies and bone marrow transplant services.

Related Articles

Muibat Haruna, Adetola Olubunmi Daramola, Nicholas Awodele Awolola, Nahla Mustafa Badr, Adekunbiola Aina Fehintola Banjo, Abeer Shaaban
Noorulain FNU, Wai-Chee Kuan, Yek-Ching Kong, Ros Suzanna Bustamam, Li-Ping Wong, Shridevi Subramaniam, Gwo-Fuang Ho, Hafizah Zaharah, Cheng-Har Yip, Nirmala Bhoo-Pathy
Thilagavathi Ramamoorthy, Krishnan Sathishkumar, Priyanka Das, Kondalli Lakshminarayana Sudarshan, Prashant Mathur
Valerian Mwenda, Woki Mburu, Joan-Paula Bor, Mary Nyangasi, Marc Arbyn, Steven Weyers, Philippe Tummers, Marleen Temmerman
Ifeanyichukwu Augustine Onyeodi, Gabriel T Fagbenro, Mariam A Bashir, Opeyemi M Awofeso, Adedayo O Joseph
Ronald Limón, Lucia Reynolds, Erick Rocha, Lucia Richter, Mario Gianella, Oscar Niño de Guzman, Gerson Mejía, José Nina, Wendy Rojas, Lijia Avilés, Iván Maldonado, Cristian Pacheco, Claudio Martín, Maria G Cervantes, Federico Bakal, Eduardo Cazap