ecancermedicalscience is an open access cancer journal focused on under-resourced communities. In order to help reduce global inequalities in cancer care and treatment, we provide free access to all articles from the point of publication and we only charge authors who have specific funding to cover publication costs.

The journal considers articles on all aspects of research relating to cancer, including molecular biology, genetics, pathophysiology, epidemiology, clinical reports, controlled trials (in particular if they are independent or publicly funded trials), health systems, cancer policy and regulatory aspects of cancer care.

Cancer services delivery: focus on India

26 May 2022
Guest Editors: Soumitra Shankar Datta and Eduardo Cazap

This special issue aims to highlight some of the challenges of cancer care delivery in low- and middle-income countries (LMICs) and the way these could be overcome, focusing on India.

The six papers cover a wide range of topics including diagnostic performance and survival outcome of Sentinel Lymph Node Biopsy in breast cancer patients, information sharing preferences of professionals looking after children with cancer, pre-operative risk factors associated with a post-operative psychiatric diagnosis in oral cancer patients, and a public policy analysis to understand India's compliance with the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control.

It is hoped that this special issue will contribute to the planning of future cancer services in India. Providing holistic care that is sensitive to the physical and emotional needs of the patient is crucial. There is a need for preventive programmes and early identification of patients as well as cost-effective cancer care that is evidence-based and accessible to the patient.

Watch interviews with the special issue authors.

Read the full editorial

Watch Guest Editor Soumitra Shankar Datta discuss the special issue

Special Issue Articles

Sanjit Kumar Agrawal, Piyush Ranjan, Noopur Priya, Shashank Nigam, Sumohan Chatterjee
Arnab Mukherjee, Chitralekha Bhowmick, Shreshta Chattopadhyay, Mohamed Abdul Kathar, Moitri Bhattacharyya, Shazia Nasreen, Prateek Jain, Pattatheyil Arun, Soumitra Shankar Datta
Suvraraj Das, Rajeev Sharan, Anoop Attakkil, Saugata Sen, Kapila Manikantan, Prateek V Jain, Pattatheyil Arun
Trishna Chaudhuri, Devi Nandakumar, Soumitra Shankar Datta, Zakir Husain, Reghu K Sukumaran, Inder Sekhar Yadav, Sekhar Krishnan, Samiran Panda
Sanjit Kumar Agrawal, Himanshu Sharma, Noopur Priya, Anoop P Saji, Hamyung Denchu Phom, Abhishek Sharma, Indu Arun, Jayanta Das, Aditi Chandra, Rosina Ahmed