Clinical Study

Outcome of patients with primary glioblastoma in Chile: single centre series

10 Feb 2021
Mariana Sinning, Michael Frelinghuysen, Marcela Gallegos, Andrés Cordova, Patricio Paredes, Conrado Vogel, Emi Sujima, Carlos Kamiya-Matsuoka, Felipe Valdivia

Background: Glioblastoma (GBM) is the most common and most aggressive primary malignant brain tumour. The standard of care is surgical resection, followed by radiotherapy with concurrent and adjuvant temozolomide. In Latin America, there is scarcity of information about the incidence of GBM and even less data regarding outcomes. In this study, we describe the clinicopathologic features, management and outcomes of GBM patients.

Methods: We describe a single-centre multidisciplinary team experience in managing GBM patients over an 11-year period (Jan 2005 to Dec 2016). Pathology was reviewed by the pathology collaborator and retrospective chart review performed for treatment and clinical outcomes.

Results: We identified 74 patients (50 males) with diagnosis of GBM. Median age at diagnosis was 58 years (range 24–79 years), and median Karnofsky performance status was 80%. Forty-three (58.1%) went to gross total resection, 20 (27%) partial resection and 11 (14.9%) biopsy. Sixty-four (87%) patients received Stupp regimen. The median overall survival (OS) was 13.9 months (standard error (SE) 1.71; 95% confidence interval (CI), 10.56–17.23). In patients treated according to Stupp regimen, the progression-free survival (PFS) was 10 months (SE 1.8; 95% CI, 6.481–13.519), the selfcare survival was 11.8 months (SE 1.61; 95% CI, 8.632–14.968) and the OS was 16.1 months (SE 1.53; 95% CI, 13.01–19.099).

Conclusions: This study reports the most complete analysis of epidemiology, clinical management and outcomes of patients with diagnosis of GBM in Chile treated with Stupp regimen. The PFS and OS are consistent with reports of US and Europe.

Related Articles

Gunjesh Kumar Singh, Hollis DSouza, Nandini Menon, Sujay Srinivas, Dilip Harindran Vallathol, Mounika Boppana, Annu Rajpurohit, Abhishek Mahajan, Amit Janu, Abhishek Chatterjee, Rahul Krishnatry, Tejpal Gupta, Rakesh Jalali, Vijay M Patil
Lotfi Kochbati, Verna Vanderpuye, Rim Moujahed, Mouna Ben Rejeb, Zeineb Naimi, Tajudeen Olasinde
Annu Rajpurohit, Nilendu Purandare, Aliasgar Moiyadi, Prakash Shetty, Abhishek Mahajan, Rajiv Kumar, Subhash Yadav, Naveen Munmudi, Ameya Puranik, Anil Tibdewal, Rahul Krishnarthy, Ankita Ahuja, Nandini Menon, Vanita Noronha, Amit Joshi, Vijay M Patil, Kumar Prabhash