AACR award winners

26 Mar 2008

World-class cancer researchers whose science has significantly contributed to progress in the fight against cancer will be recognized April 12-16, 2008, by the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) at its 2008 Annual Meeting at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego, Calif.

A series of awards given annually by the AACR, the world’s oldest and largest professional organization representing cancer scientists from the United States and nearly 70 other countries, honor outstanding accomplishments in basic cancer research, clinical care, therapeutics and prevention. Each recipient presents an educational lecture at the AACR Annual Meeting.

“The AACR Awards Program recognizes the finest and most promising investigators in all fields of cancer research,” said AACR Chief Executive Officer Margaret Foti, Ph.D., M.D. (h.c.). “During our Annual Meeting, AACR is pleased to honor the dedication and work of such influential researchers and advocates who continue to shape the future of cancer research.”

Peers and colleagues nominate award candidates. Selection committees for each award, comprised of leaders in all areas of cancer research, choose the honorees. This year’s awardees embody the spirit of the AACR through their significant achievements in cancer research, education, and collaboration as well as their passion and dedication to advancing progress in the field. The honorees are:

Nancy E. Davidson, M.D., professor of oncology and breast cancer research chair in oncology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center; with joint appointments in biochemistry and molecular biology at The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, will be honored with the 11th Annual AACR-Women in Cancer Research-Charlotte Friend Memorial Lectureship for her accomplishments in translational cancer science, including pivotal discoveries regarding the epigenetic regulation of estrogen receptors and landmark clinical trials that have helped shape the standard of care for women with breast cancer. The Women in Cancer Research Council of the AACR established this lectureship in 1998 to honor renowned virologist and discoverer of the Friend virus, Dr. Charlotte Friend. The lecture recognizes an outstanding scientist who has made meritorious contributions to the field of cancer research and who has, through leadership or by example, furthered the advancement of women in science. The Award ceremony and lecture will be held on Saturday, April 12, 2008 at 5:30 p.m.

Arthur Gutierrez-Hartmann, M.D., professor in the departments of medicine and of biochemistry & molecular genetics; member, graduate programs in biochemistry & molecular genetics, molecular biology and reproductive sciences at the University of Colorado Cancer Center, will receive the third annual AACR-Minorities in Cancer Research-Jane Cooke Wright Lectureship, for diversifying the cancer research community by recruiting minority scientists into the field, serving as a mentor to minority students, and fostering the careers of young minority investigators. In addition to his outstanding achievements as a researcher of epithelial cell development and tumorigenesis, Gutierrez-Hartmann has dedicated himself to helping minority scientists reach their full career potential. Named in honor of Jane Cooke Wright, M.D., an African-American woman pioneer in clinical cancer chemotherapy, the award is sponsored by the AACR-Minorities in Cancer Research Council and is intended to give recognition to an outstanding scientist who has, through leadership or by example, furthered the advancement of minority investigators in c