Haematologic biomarkers and survival in gallbladder cancer: a systematic review and meta-analysis

30 Jan 2024
Rogelio N Velasco, Jr, Harold Nathan C Tan, Michael D San Juan

Background: Gallbladder cancer is a rare malignancy characterised by poor survival with lack of durable response to treatment. Thus, novel biomarkers are needed to prognosticate patients. This systematic review and meta-analysis sought to examine the role of neutrophil-to-lymphocyte ratio, platelet-to-lymphocyte ratio, monocyte-to-lymphocyte ratio, platelet count (PC) and serum immune inflammation index in predicting the survival of patients with gallbladder cancer.

Materials and methods: A systematic search was done using PubMed, Cochrane, and Google Scholar for articles published from inception until 8 February 2022. Hazard ratios (HR) with 95% confidence intervals (CI) were pooled and subgroup analyses were conducted according to treatment, region and cut-offs. The primary outcome of interest was overall survival (OS). Data were summarised using RevMan version 5.4.

Results: Twenty studies comprising 5,183 patients were included in the analysis. High neutrophil-lymphocyte ratio (HR 1.72, 95% CI 1.47–2.02), platelet-lymphocyte ratio (HR 1.51, 95% CI 1.33–1.72), monocyte-lymphocyte ratio (HR 1.96, 95% CI 1.46–1.64), PC (HR 1.20, 95% CI 1.02–1.40) and serum inflammation index (HR 1.73, 95% CI 1.36–2.18) were all associated with worse survival. The association was consistent across most subgroups on race and cut-offs with a trend towards poor survival for PC above 252.5.

Conclusion: High neutrophil-lymphocyte ratio, platelet-lymphocyte ratio, monocyte-lymphocyte ratio, PC and SII are associated with worse OS in gallbladder cancer and are potential biomarkers for prognostication. Prospective studies are recommended to further evaluate their use.

Related Articles

Dina Sweed, Shaymaa Sabry El Gammal, Shimaa Kilany, Shimaa Abdelsattar, Sara Mohamed Abd Elhamed
Muhammad Tayyab Ul-Hasan Siddiqui, Ghulam Fareed, Muhammad Rizwan Khan, Amna Riaz, Saeed Sadiq Hamid
Ally Mwanga, Eric Mbuguje, Jared Alswang, Nathan Brand, Andrew Swallow, Deogratius Beda Mwanakulya, Charles Pallangyo, Seif Wibonela, Eva Uiso, William Kitua, Saleh Pazi
Abhinav Bansal, Ekta Dhamija, Sheragaru Hanumanthappa Chandrashekhara, Ranjit Kumar Sahoo